So What? The dorian scale on iPad garageband

Photo by Daikrieg

I had a think about yesterday’s post last night and it got me thinking more about teaching improvisation. I think that the first step to improvising is having the confidence to try something, and the second step is to understanding why it does or doesn’t sound good. So today my grade 10 students are going to use the dorian scale function in garageband iPad to improvise a solo for Miles Davis’ So What and we’re going to listen to each others’ compositions and evaluate them. Now I just have to figure out how to upload an mp3 of what they create on to this blog!

Here it is –>

 

P.S. This took me ages to figure out how to embed. So proud of myself 🙂

About Alison Armstrong

Alison Armstrong BMus./BEd. (Queensland University of Technology), Dip. ABRSM (Performance- Singing) I have trained to teach Music (Elementary, Middle and High School) and Drama (Middle and High School). This is my 7th year as a teacher.
This entry was posted in Music teaching, Music Technology and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to So What? The dorian scale on iPad garageband

  1. You should just be able to upload an Mp3 and wordpress has it’s own player, but a cooler option is Soundcloud:

    http://soundcloud.com/

    Great site, pretty straight forward. Explore a bit and then ask questions. Nice way to share music, comment on “the wave” and more. One of my favorite sites.

  2. Thanks Jabiz. Soundcloud is great. Might have to get my students to publish their stuff there.

    • You only get a certain amount of space, but I am thinking of buying more, cuz I love having my songs there.

      It is also a great place for Creative Commons music and sounds. There is an iPhone and Ioad app for easy recording and sharing to the site too. It is a gem.

      Here are my little ramblings. Very amateur, so not sure if you can stomach it, but it is what it is:

  3. Looks like something went wrong. There is a way to embed the player right in your blog. Hint start with Share button (upper left had side of player) Remind me to show you at DC101.

Leave a Reply

