A fascination with Music and the Brain.

When I first lived in Singapore I spent a lot of my money on buying music books and trying to educate myself about being a musician (now that I had finished my BMus!). The singing lessons (with Ms. Jeong Ae-Ree), language lessons (German and Italian) and choral sessions (at the Singapore Lyric Opera) were wonderful, but were a welcome distraction from teaching primary school music rather than an inspiration for being a teacher. The books and films I discovered about music and the brain, on the other hand, inspired me.

Bobby McFerrin

Daniel Levitin

The World in Six Songs

This is Your Brain on Music

Oliver Sacks

Musicophilia: Tales of Music and the Brain

Trailer for “The Music Never Stopped”

About Alison Armstrong

Alison Armstrong BMus./BEd. (Queensland University of Technology), Dip. ABRSM (Performance- Singing) I have trained to teach Music (Elementary, Middle and High School) and Drama (Middle and High School). This is my 7th year as a teacher.
This entry was posted in Music Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A fascination with Music and the Brain.

  1. Sara says:

    hi alison! may i know how you started singing lessons with miss jeong ae ree please? i have been looking for a singing teacher for some time and would like to contact her 🙂 thank you!

Leave a Reply

