Playing in a Gamelan Orchestra

This is a video of my students in a gamelan rehearsal.

About Alison Armstrong

Alison Armstrong BMus./BEd. (Queensland University of Technology), Dip. ABRSM (Performance- Singing) I have trained to teach Music (Elementary, Middle and High School) and Drama (Middle and High School). This is my 7th year as a teacher.
This entry was posted in Music teaching and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Playing in a Gamelan Orchestra

  1. This is pretty cool to watch! Whose instruments? What were you using to video tape with? It became pretty distorted – was it that loud in there? I would love to see more but with better sound.

    • Thanks for your feedback Paul! It was really loud in there, but the main problem was with the camera I was using — my Macbook laptop (!). I’m teaching this unit of work two more times before June and I will be sure to use a better camera next time and check my microphone levels. I’m planning on making an iBook with my students about teaching gamelan using either a real orchestra or Orff instruments as substitutes, just have to sort through some paperwork first. I think it’ll be really worthwhile because instead of simply seeing a picture of the instrument in a text book, I can film the instruments being played and students around the world can hear what it sounds like.

    • I forgot to say, they are the school’s instruments. I am teaching in Indonesia at an international school that is really involved in the community, so it only makes sense to have instruments like gamelan, kolintang and anklung. (Yes I feel very lucky)

Leave a Reply

