Indian music basics on the iPad

I just had a lesson with my grade 12 student about crossrhythms in Ghanaian music and tala in Indian music. We tried to fuse the two ideas using the drum function on garageband iPad but ended up only coping with entering a basic tala. Afterwards I experimented a bit and uploaded my finished sound files onto soundcloud. Here’s the finished product and the concepts I used.

Tala – underlying rhythm pattern in Indian music

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Sam Tali Khali (silent) Tali

Note names in Indian music

Do Re Mi Fa So La Ti Do
Sa Ri Ga Ma Pa Dha Ri Sa

Raga- pattern of notes in Indian music

Sa Ga Ma Pa Ri Sa Sa

Sa Ri Pa Ma Ga Sa Sa  = Evening raga- Behag

Soundcloud examples taken from my iPad

Update: Sorry for the little mistake in the soundfile- I say mi instead of ti before do and so fa instead of fa so at the beginning- I was recording fairly quickly as I had a class to attend to!! I was clearly more interested in getting the pitch right than the note names — what a complete brain-fart!

About Alison Armstrong

Alison Armstrong BMus./BEd. (Queensland University of Technology), Dip. ABRSM (Performance- Singing) I have trained to teach Music (Elementary, Middle and High School) and Drama (Middle and High School). This is my 7th year as a teacher.
This entry was posted in Music Technology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Indian music basics on the iPad

  1. Marcia says:

    This is so cool!! Spent a summer in Ghana – they would love this. Thanks for sharing!

    • Glad you like it. I’m trying to come up with new ideas for how to teach world music concepts in my classroom and this is the first iPad connection I’ve made. Fairly happy with it but would love to explore it further.

Leave a Reply

