What will your musical legacy be?

The title of this post is a question I have posed to my students on a number of occasions. These are my answers. I hope that my blog readers out there will add at least one comment on what they think their musical legacy will be. (You don’t need to be a music teacher or student to answer this question, simply someone who listens to music.)

  •    To have inspired a generation or two of my students to find their singing voice and to enjoy singing (even if it is only in private).
  •    To have shaped a range of listeners to promote the music they think has value, and to turn off or walk away from the music that doesn’t support their values.
  •    To have inspired my students and friends to seek to understand why people around the world listen to the music they listen to, to seek different perspectives.
  •    To have taught a range of listeners a vocabulary that enables them to explain why they like the music they like, rather than to simply say because it’s good or bad.
  •     To make music more than just something my students and friends listen to, but to be something they participate in, through creating new music, reinventing old music, performing live music or supporting live music.
  •    To inspire people everywhere to use music to tell or create stories, and to understand other generations and cultures…

This song helped me understand my father’s generation a little better…

About Alison Armstrong

Alison Armstrong BMus./BEd. (Queensland University of Technology), Dip. ABRSM (Performance- Singing) I have trained to teach Music (Elementary, Middle and High School) and Drama (Middle and High School). This is my 7th year as a teacher.
This entry was posted in Music teaching and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

