Grade 10’s compositions for Charlie Chaplin film

Today is Invention Day at our school as part of Da Vinci Week where we celebrate the Sciences, Technology and the Arts. My student’s contribution to Invention Day is twofold. My grade 10’s are sharing their compositions that they set to an excerpt of a Charlie Chaplin film (found below) and my grade 6 and 9 class are performing a body percussion piece as a flash mob (video to come later this week). We’re having a Renaissance fair on Thursday and my choir is singing some beautiful three-part song for that event and I’ll be sure to post the video of that later, too.

Update: Someone just told me via twitter that it was Chaplin’s birthday yesterday (April 16). I swear it was pure coincidence that I planned to do this today!

Before you watch the grade 10 film, I just want to say that I’m very impressed with what the students achieved given the mixed levels of musical ability and understanding in the class. Students in international schools tend to stay for 1, 2 or 3 years and move on so it’s difficult to build a good understanding of music theory. The film provided them with the structure for their piece and I’m tempted to use animation again as a means for students to see structure in music.

In case you’re curious… we used the program Sibelius to compose with, which had the added benefit of playing the film in sync with the score as we were composing.

(Apologies for the advertisements that appear- a necessary evil given that we’ve used copyrighted footage.)

About Alison Armstrong

Alison Armstrong BMus./BEd. (Queensland University of Technology), Dip. ABRSM (Performance- Singing) I have trained to teach Music (Elementary, Middle and High School) and Drama (Middle and High School). This is my 7th year as a teacher.
This entry was posted in Music teaching, Music Technology and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

