Vocal experiment- Skylark

In trying to feed my songwriting muse, I’ve taken every song that has entered my head over the past few days and taken the time to stop and perform it. It’s been ages since I heard the song Skylark, but it popped into my head today out of nowhere. I like to try to imitate other singers and seeing as Ella Fitzgerald normally sings this I thought I’d record me trying to copy her sound. Once again it’s just me with my computer mic using garageband to record. Tell me what you think…

About Alison Armstrong

Alison Armstrong BMus./BEd. (Queensland University of Technology), Dip. ABRSM (Performance- Singing) I have trained to teach Music (Elementary, Middle and High School) and Drama (Middle and High School). This is my 7th year as a teacher.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vocal experiment- Skylark

  1. Adam says:

    Alison, you have a wonderful voice! I really enjoyed that.

    My favourite Ella song is her version of “Paper Moon” – do you take requests? 🙂

    • Thanks. I sing Paper Moon around the house all the time, but I don’t think I’d ever record it, I mostly experiment for my own amusement- I’m actually a lyric soprano, not a brooding jazz singer! After listening to her version of Skylark and this song I realise my timbre is too ‘dark’ for the length of the song, whereas she mixes up using ‘bright’ and dark timbres and is very specific where she uses vibrato. I’m getting closer to her vowel sounds though. You should hear me do Julie Andrews! Next singers to learn to imitate are Edith Piaf and Billie Holiday.

Leave a Reply

