Creating your own Frontier Psychiatrist using Polyphontics

When I was in university the song “Frontier Psychiatrist” by the Avalanches was definitely a favourite of mine, add to that my love for Steve Reich’s “Different Trains” and you can see that I was destined to learn how to use prerecorded sounds in my music. (Watching Herbie Hancock and Taylor McFerrin in concert also helped.)

I decided two weeks ago that I needed to learn how to use the technology on my computer to do this. This was what I had available to me…

– A Macbook with GarageBand

– An M-Audio USB midi keyboard

After a conversation on twitter and then skype with a fellow musician/ teacher, I decided to download a free trial of the program Polyphontics. This program allows me to play any sound I want onto each key of my USB piano keyboard.

Click Sound_Banks to get my instructional pdf that explains how to use Polyphontics with GarageBand. The instructional video that SonicAmigosSupport made was good, but it missed a few steps for me and I got confused, hence I’ve made the pdf. I think this could be used by IB Music students who are studying composition, so do check it out.

In the meantime here’s the recording I made in GarageBand using Polyphontics. (Yes it’s Twinkle Twinkle)

About Alison Armstrong

Alison Armstrong BMus./BEd. (Queensland University of Technology), Dip. ABRSM (Performance- Singing) I have trained to teach Music (Elementary, Middle and High School) and Drama (Middle and High School). This is my 7th year as a teacher.
This entry was posted in Music teaching, Music Technology and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Creating your own Frontier Psychiatrist using Polyphontics

  1. kevin says:

    thank you Ms. finished read.

Leave a Reply

