Fix You arranged for Choir and Rock Band

A while back I was looking for a song that both my choir and rock band could perform at the end of year assembly and I thought that Fix You by Coldplay would be just perfect. I wrote it out using Sibelius (changed the key to E major) and today I finally finished all the parts (I had given the choral parts to my choir a couple of weeks ago). As for my rock band, they won’t need the music, they’ll just learn through listening, but for my own growth as a musician I took the time to write it out as I would like to hear it. Please take a listen, I’d say it’s taken me between 8- 12 hours of listening and writing to finish it and it’s only 4 min long!

Here’s the Fix You arrangement as a pdf. Yes you can have it for free. If you want individual parts, just leave me a comment and I’ll get them to you.

Here’s a pic of just 2 of the pages 🙂 Ahhh, the sweet feeling of accomplishment!

About Alison Armstrong

Alison Armstrong BMus./BEd. (Queensland University of Technology), Dip. ABRSM (Performance- Singing) I have trained to teach Music (Elementary, Middle and High School) and Drama (Middle and High School). This is my 7th year as a teacher.
This entry was posted in Music teaching and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Fix You arranged for Choir and Rock Band

  1. I… can barely read music any more. Isn’t that sad? Once I have the key I can Duh my way through it, but it’s all but gone. With guitar I have to use the tablature.

    • As they say, if you don’t use it you lose it. I totally cheated on this project, instead of working out the chords for myself I looked up three different versions of chords for this song on ultimateguitar and based the chords roughly on that. It’s been good though, to get my mind thinking in layers of sounds, need to do it more regularly.

  2. Dana Spagnuolo says:

    You are a generous woman:). A God send.

  3. Can you please sent me the individual parts?

  4. Harald Wischmann says:

    This was great help! Thanks for sharing! I based a choir arrangement on the refrain and bridge for three voices based on your work, in Eb though. I had a hard time figuring out the rythmical part on the bridge, but that went a lot easier thanks to you. Can I be bold and ask for the vocal verses with lyrics in Eb, if your program transposes?

  5. LJ says:

    I would LOVE LOVE individual parts to use with my choir and jazz band!
    Thanks, and keep blogging the music!!

  6. Annie says:

    Thank you thank you for this! It’s amazing.
    Could you please send me the indv. parts as well?

  7. Wyeth says:

    Hi Alison,

    Amazing thanks for this! I am just setting up a choir that this would be perfect for. Could I please get the individual parts, even better still the Sibelius file. I understand if you don’t want to give this away.

  8. Bente Jorgensen says:

    Hi
    I am verty greatful to you for offering this for free. Word it be too much to ask for just the instrumental parts i Eb?
    Thank you in any case….
    Bente
    Music teacher

  9. Franz Atkinson says:

    Just came across your blog with FIX YOU. Would love to use this song with my choir. Can you let me have the parts please.

    Have you arranged any other songs you might share?

    Thanks

    Franz Dorchester UK

  10. JG Jongsma says:

    Hi Alison, Great work! I’d love to have your version of Fix You in Sibelius, can you email that to me?

    Many thanks in advance,
    JG

  11. Katie Wolfe says:

    This is a fantastic resource! Could I please have the individual parts? Thanks, Katie

Leave a Reply

