Mother’s Day Message to my Mum the Music Teacher

Thank you Mum.

Thank you for showing me that you can be part of your children’s lives and still have a career.

Thank you for making music a part of our lives as much as it was your students.

Thank you for encouraging all of us to sing in all its forms – for church, for charity, in choirs, in competition, and in the car.

Thank you for finding a song in everything and teaching us all the songs you knew. I can’t pass the time now without thinking, what song will make the time fly by?

Thank you for encouraging us gently and letting us make the decisions about music, but when the time came, always being there when we were performing.

Thank you for finding the time, the week before a big production, to do something special with us.

Thank you for showing me that a winning smile and a polite thank you puts an audience at ease, and that divas are simply painful.

Thank you for continuing to encourage me as a musician.

I love being a music teacher because of you and any time someone says, you’re just like your mum, I beam with pride thinking that I might reflect a little bit of you.

If you had Wendy Williams as your music teacher at Port Moresby International School (1987- 1994), Laidley State High School, St. Ursulas College or St. Savior’s College and have a memory of her that you’d like to share (school musicals, the school band or choir, the United Nations Festival, the school trip and subsequent performances in the US by students from PNG, etc.) please write it in the comments section and I’ll make sure she reads it.

About Alison Armstrong

Alison Armstrong BMus./BEd. (Queensland University of Technology), Dip. ABRSM (Performance- Singing) I have trained to teach Music (Elementary, Middle and High School) and Drama (Middle and High School). This is my 7th year as a teacher.
This entry was posted in Music teaching and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mother’s Day Message to my Mum the Music Teacher

  1. fame1444 says:

    Hi Alison – Thanks for sharing this! I hope my kids say something like this years from now when they think about their young years of living with a music teaching mom.

  2. 3rdculturekiwi says:

    I remember having Wendy as my music teacher in grade 7 and 8. I probably wasn’t the greatest music student because at that time I really didn’t have very much interest in music.
    However, she was an enthusiastic and great teacher and if it wasn’t for her, when I did begin to have an interest in music, after she had left the school (there’s no correlation between those 2 events by the way, it’s just one of life’s funny little moments), we wouldn’t have had all those wonderful guitars, amps, keyboards and drums that countless school bands have loved and used since. And if it wasn’t for the fantastic effort and foresight, we wouldn’t have the yearly UN Concert, the highlight of the Port Moresby calendar year.
    And for that I thank you. Thanks Wendy Williams, and Happy Mothers Day.

  3. Linda Badib says:

    This is just a fantastic tribute to your Mom! It’s a year late but I would like to add that Mrs. W was always there for us kids who wanted to be part of the school choir. I STILL hum the Beatles’ medley and all sorts of random songs we did through the years. I was lucky to have Mrs. W throughout my time at POMHI back in 1988-1992. I know this is especially for your Mom but the whole Williams family was a great friend of ours so best wishes from the Badib family too!

  4. Catherine Butt says:

    I had Wendy as my music teacher in 88 & 89 (year 7 & 8). for me that was an important class because it introduced me to songwriting – which is still one of my main creative outlets. a fun and inspiring teacher. i loved learning the drums.

Leave a Reply

