Be Still, My Soul.

Apparently I’ve been blogging for a year. I started doing it for a course that my school provided, led by Jabiz Raisdana, and he really got me thinking about sharing and creating on the internet instead of just consuming what’s there, so today I have another arrangement for you all to share.

I absolutely love the hymn ‘Be Still, My Soul’ and I wanted to do a very simple arrangement of it for my choir. It’s not technical enough for us to use in competition, but it’s a gorgeous piece and is guaranteed to give goosebumps as a ‘just because’ piece. Most of the harmony work was courtesy of a public domain SATB version of the piece, but there are a couple of ideas in there that are my own.

Here it is as PDF , wordpress doesn’t support midi, but here are the vocal lines as played on piano- MP3

I warn you, it is beautifully sad when performed well.

 

About Alison Armstrong

Alison Armstrong BMus./BEd. (Queensland University of Technology), Dip. ABRSM (Performance- Singing) I have trained to teach Music (Elementary, Middle and High School) and Drama (Middle and High School). This is my 7th year as a teacher.
This entry was posted in Music teaching and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Be Still, My Soul.

  1. Lovely! I’ve never heard of this hymn before, but once I started listening I realised I knew it as Finlandia, in a vocal arrangement written in Hungarian (from a book I bought in Hungary, years ago). So I am happy to have some English words to sing – I never really got my head around the Hungarian/Finnish pronunciation.

Leave a Reply

