What a Wonderful World: Connections to inspire Music Teachers

Hello from beautiful Laos!

Mekong in flood at sunset (Vientiane, Laos, August 2015) by Nathan Armstrong

Mekong in flood at sunset (Vientiane, Laos, August 2015) by Nathan Armstrong

So, I’ve just gotten back from a conference (EARCOS) at the International School of Manila with a bunch of Arts and PE teachers AND I’ve signed up for a course on COURSERA through the Sydney Conservatorium. Let’s see how much I can reinvigorate my classroom practice by the end of the school year!!

So if you’re looking for some connections for yourself as a music teacher can I recommend that you…

  • click on and sign up for Music Education in the 21st century
  • go and see what Doug Goodkin is up to and use some Orff skills in your classroom
  • go and read more about what @ethanhein , @alexruthmann and @JamesHumbers are up to on twitter, not to mention me – @alisonmusicblog
  • and be inspired by Christopher Bill’s trombone arrangements (Happy and Uptown Funk) and loops on youtube.

If this is your first time at my site, I haven’t updated this place in forever, so bear with me while I get my online presence back in some kind of order! In the meantime, why not listen to me and my husband play through a tiny portion of “Girl Put Your Records On” by Corinne Bailey Rae?

I would put up one of my soundcloud files of an old arrangement, but internet in Laos in the heat is notoriously awful, and it’s taken me around 2 hours to get this far with with this post!!

 

About Alison Armstrong

Alison Armstrong BMus./BEd. (Queensland University of Technology), Dip. ABRSM (Performance- Singing) I have trained to teach Music (Elementary, Middle and High School) and Drama (Middle and High School). This is my 7th year as a teacher.
This entry was posted in Music teaching and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

